Morrison's Island is a reclaimed marsh outside the old walled city of Cork. Over the centuries it has been known by many different names. Among the former names were the East Marsh, Dunbar's Marsh and Lavitt's Island. It finally came to be called Morrison's Island after the Morrison family which was prominent in the civic affairs of Cork in the eighteenth century. After the reclamation of the marsh in the eighteenth century the area became an important commercial and industrial centre. A notable businessman who set up a preserved provisions firm in the area was John Henry Gamble. Gamble's firm supplied provisions to the Parry polar expedition in 1824. The Fury, the ship carrying the expedition in its attempt to explore the North-West passage, was shipwrecked in Prince Regent's inlet in 1825. Gamble's provisions were washed up on the beach where they were found in 1833 to be still in a perfect state of preservation. Morrison's Island was also noted as a residential area for members of the legal and medical professions.
Download this image in PDF format from the link below:Morrison's Island and Fr Mathew Memorial Church PDF(173KB)